“Best job in the world” for new PC Mo

Mo blog top

Mohammed Haleem, 27, has worked for Cambridgeshire Constabulary for nine years, mostly as a PCSO but now as a regular officer. Here he tells the story of his service so far, including a brush with Royalty.

As a child I wanted to become a police officer and this ambition only grew stronger when I met one of our local bobbies. I only remember the incident vaguely but I remember being told, “It’s the best job in world”. That has kind of echoed through my life and has been one of the driving forces in getting me where I am. I wanted to become a regular officer because I want to become a major crime detective or fraud investigator. Unfortunately, no promotion framework exists as a PCSO which is one of the reasons why I wanted to join as a regular. The other is of course is to drive fast cars!

I did a whole of range of things as a PCSO, covering most of southern Peterborough. I was initially a Hampton officer and then moved to Woodston and Fletton, Orton, Stanground and finally the whole of the city. Incidents I dealt with ranged from neighbourhood disputes and criminal damage to anti-social behaviour involving youths. As a way of tackling the latter I and two of my colleagues, PCSOs Stu Craig and Matt Lauch, successfully set up two youth clubs. The first was run at Tesco Extra where youths came in to play video games and the second was a football club I set up for youths who were causing anti-social behaviour at the shops. Both reduced anti-social behaviour and the youths had something to do in the evenings.

My most memorable time as a PCSO was when I met Princess Anne in person. Her Royal Highness attended my police station to inaugurate the Victim Support Hub and I was one of the officers looking after the royal helicopter. Right at the end she came over to me and my colleague and personally thanked us and spoke with us for few minutes before she departed to her next engagement.

Policing is something that is never the same, day-in-day-out, and therefore every day is a new day. I like policing because it gives me the opportunity to help others and make a difference in the community, which can range from talking to offenders to understanding the effects it has on victims.

I am now a police officer and look forward to the new challenges that lie ahead.

Could you walk in Mohammed’s shoes? Visit the recruitment section of our website HERE

 

Leave a Reply

